The “Jug” in my life..

am writing about Jug in my life for the #DearZindagi activity at BlogAdda“.

Everyone needs a friend, a confidante in life with whom you can share your sorrows, joys, vent out your frustrations.  Generally, since childhood people have besties, friends, siblings who are the “jug” in their life.

My story has been a bit different.  I was an introverted child with lots of complexes and body image issues and hence had very limited friends.  Even with those friends, I was not the kind who would share or open up easily; I still can’t!  Somewhere the fear of being judged, the fear of that friend telling it to someone else and me being ridiculed, lack of faith, etc. have been factors which stopped me from being opening up.  Of course, my own insecurities had a major role to play!

Enter a man in my life at the age of 24, a tall, strapping simple man with an infectious smile.  How did I meet him?  Well, in an arranged marriage set-up!  But there was a sparkle and we clicked.  Six months later we got married.  That was when my Jug entered in my life.

I don’t know why or how but he was the first person with whom I was “me”, comfortable, confident.  He was and still is a non-judgmental guy who thinks from the perspective of the other person.  He says he has been sorted since his childhood!  He is my in-house Jug, my friend.

Not many couples are the best of friends or buddies.  But for me or for him we have been the best of buddies since the past almost 15 years.  He is a patient and calm man whereas I get flustered very easily.  I am short-tempered too!  He has the patience to listen to my vents by not getting annoyed.

I am fortunate that my Jug is available to me everyday.  He is besides me all the time!  Because of him, I have opened up, become non-judgmental, started to forgive more easily, and can become anybody’s Jug now!

He is my lifeline who has always helped me emotionally in every step of my life.  As a person, as a wife, as a mother, as a daughter, as a daughter-in-law, as a dreamer whenever I have felt like giving up or frustrated, he has given me the strength to go on and on.

Thanks to my Jug, my husband.

Leave a comment